Paul Thomas Anderson's 'There Will Be Blood' is a great film for a more reasons than we can count, but surely near the top (right alongside Daniel Day-Lewis' instantly iconic lead performance) is Johnny Greenwood's score. Unsettling, sparse and unforgettable, its disqualification from the Academy Awards remains one of Oscar's darkest moments. Since you don't fix something that isn't broken, Greenwood came back to score Anderson's 'The Master' and if a recently released sample track is any indication, this partnership has once again bore sinister and incredible fruit.

'The Master' has screened twice now, first as a surprise sneak peek and again this week to a sold-out crowd in Chicago, most of whom left the theater singing the film's praises (particularly its gorgeous 70mm film projection). With the Summer movie season behind us, it's time to turn away from blockbuster fare and concentrate on the more mature and thoughtful films that populate the Fall...and 'The Master' is surely going to be the 'Avengers' of mature and thoughtful Fall films.

Here's the sample of Greenwood's score, followed by the soundtrack track list:

01 Overtones
02 Time Hole
03 Back Beyond
04 Get Thee Behind Me Satan – Ella Fitzgerald
05 Alethia
06 Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree (With Anyone Else but Me) – Madisen Beaty
07 Atomic Healer
08 Able-Bodied Seamen
09 The Split Saber
10 Baton Sparks
11. No Other Love – Jo Stafford
12 His Master’s Voice
13 Application 45 Version 1
14 Changing Partners – Helen Forrest

The soundtrack for 'The Master' hits shelves on September 11th, but the film opens on September 14th. If you can track down a 70mm screening, it'll probably be worth going out of your way.